Competitors flocked to Wolseley Park on Saturday afternoon, vying to be crowned Australian whip cracking champions for 2022. As part of Gunnedah’s Weeks of Speed, the world’s richest whip cracking tournament saw entrants from across the country, including Queensland, Victoria, South Australia, ACT and NSW.

The junior section was the first competition to get underway with Max Kamp the eventual winner, retaining his title over Jackson Kerkow in second and Jess Jervis in third.

The juvenile section saw Edward Whibley from NSW win the title in stylish fashion.

Eight-year-old Beau Jervis claimed the Pee Wee section, beating five-year-old Abbie Sozou, 22-month old Macey Wicks and two-year-old Georgia Sozou. 

In the women’s section, Brooke Wicks (452 points) regained the Australian title, beating Georgia Pitman (437 points), Gabby Wooler, Katie Sozou and Amy Steeler. It was Brooke’s ninth Australian title and the 23rd time competing in the event.

In the men’s event, James Scott (501 points) retained his title, beating local Daniel Wicks (495 points) by six points after their accuracy, 10 trick routine and 1-minute free style events. Henry Pitman (415 points) performed well in third, followed by Andrew Pitman and Josh Sozou. 


In the over 45s event, Steve Wicks defended his title, beating the likes of Graham Jones, Lisa Whibley, Andrew Wooler and Narelle Wicks from Gunnedah.

The World Bullock whip title was the feature event of the weekend and was hotly contested on Saturday afternoon. Daniel Wicks (91 points) was hoping to clinch the ninth title of his career. He beat James Scott (84 points) with Brooke Wicks (79 points) third, Max  Kamp (70 points) fourth and Gabby Wooler (57 points) fifth place.


The Australian Whipcrackers and Plaiters Association is now in its 32nd year since being formed on the side of Owens River in 1991.

The events continued into Sunday morning, with the novice whip cracking competitions.

The first event of the day was for the eight years and under competitors. Archie Shields beat out Angus Hinchcliffe, Mimi Sheridan, Audrey Hinchcliffe, Reggie Stewart and Isobel Sheridan.

The next event was the juvenile section where Ruby Shields edged out Brae Hinchcliffe by a point to claim the blue ribbon.

Sarah Stewart was impressive in the women’s division, beating Taya Shields and Julia Ritchie. In the men’s event, Charles Pitman was the winner, beating Dane Hinchcliffe and Sydney visitor Mal 

To order photos from this page click here