BASKETBALL: Tight scores in the Gunnedah Basketball Association grand finals have capped off a stellar season of competition.

In the Years 3 and 4 division, Hennessy Real Estate defeated Robertson Real Estate 25-23. This game went into two overtime periods, such was the quality of the contest.

Joshua Spinks was outstanding for his winning side, named as both Player of the Match and highest point scorer.

Most improved was Cameron Yianakis who received a basketball for his efforts.

The years 5 and 6 division, Mannion Drilling defeated Troy Dries Electrical 23-10.

Player of the Match was Flynn Royall and highest point scorer was Blaire Costello. Most improved was Ekam Sahota – Blaire and Ekam both received a basketball.

In the Years 7 and 8 division, Railway Hotel defeated ODU 34 -23. 

It was a valiant effort by the side which played with only five players.

Joseph Bounce was the highest point scorer and Harry Thomson was the Most Improved.

It was another admirable performance in the Years 9 and 10 division.

Bio Seed defeated Ag-Fix Hydraulics 41-34 – the runner-up team was again understrength and played with only four players. Player of the Match and highest point scorer was Jedd Mansfield. The most improved was Domonique Schweiter-Ashford who was presented with a basketball.

In the senior men’s competition, CompuWorks Crusaders defeated Bricklayers 38-24.

Gunnedah basketball committee members selected players who were consistent over the competition  – Rivah McDonald, Amellia Roberts, Willow-Rose Leveni, Hudson Brown, Angus Abra and Jonah Cameron.

These players received a World Cup basketball cap. 

The Gunnedah Basketball Association presentation was held at the Railway Hotel, where parents, care givers, children and players enjoyed a barbecue. During the season the hotel sponsored 126

Player of the Match awards each week of the junior 20-round competition.

The new basketball committee includes president Stephanie Cameron, vice president and secretary Jody King, treasurer Tammy Bush, senior co-ordinator Damien Baldwin and general committee members Renee Young, Samarah Field and Darcy Hill.

Registrations will start soon for the summer competitions.

To order photos from this page click here